IX. Overworking Myself

Hi, dearest reader! I hope your Monday treated you well.

A small note before I begin: As you can see from my last post, I feel like I’ve finally provided enough background information to go deeper into myself personally. I just wanted to make sure that everyone was on the same page in case I make a reference to the MBTI from here on out.

Now, on to the blog topic for the day: writing about my tendency to overwork myself. Perhaps not coincidentally, I am typing this out as a break from all of the work I need to do.

I have high aspirations for my life, fueled by pure INFJ idealism. Because of this, I take on a lot of responsibility in the things that I do. I put my all into every task that I have, for I am not one to do anything halfheartedly. As a Judging type, I have a natural preference to keep things organized and be task oriented. Most of the time I handle things just fine, but on occasion I can stretch myself too thin.

Sometimes I get so lost in my own inner world of work that I completely shut out everything that’s around me. When I have so many things on my mind it’s easy to not pay attention to friends and family as much as I should. Sometimes I even forget to do basic things for my health like eating meals because I’m concentrating so hard on the tasks at hand. My laser focus, like many of my INFJ traits, can be both a blessing and a curse. It all depends on how I use them. It allows me to take on a lot of responsibility and be successful, but if I am not careful, that can come at the cost of my own health and happiness.

So how do I make my dreams a reality while keeping myself from getting sick or shutting everything out? It all comes down to that elusive b-word: “balance”. Balancing my work ethic and my own physical/mental/emotional health is one of my greatest challenges in life. If I’m not working hard enough, I feel bad for being lazy; if I am working too hard, I feel that there’s no point if I am not enjoying the ride as well. Maintaining balance in many areas of my life will most likely always be something I can improve on, but I will continue to try to grow.

Do you, dearest reader, have trouble finding balance in your life as well? What do you do to keep everything under control and be happy at the same time? I would love to hear what you have to say in the comment section! Talk to you all soon!

Seize the day!
Ryan
17 October 2016 8:50 PM

6 thoughts on “IX. Overworking Myself

  1. Hey Ryan! You know this post is so relatable. It’s about yesterday that I was exactly in the same situation. And yes, if I am assigned some work, even if it doesn’t have to do anything with me, I still put it 100% efforts to make it look the best! Sometimes people even tell me, why do you put so much of efforts when you’ll not get anything out of it. But I can’t help it anyhow.
    Thankyou very much, another amazing trait discovered! Yayy! 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ryan, I so resonate with this post. As a 3rd grade teacher I regularly overwork myself and neglect my physical needs. I so agree that balance is the key. Sometimes I have to plan time for relaxation into my schedule otherwise I will work myself to the point of total exhaustion! Keep up the great writing. I’m sure that many INFJs can relate to your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Hannah,

      It’s so delightful to hear from you 🙂

      I’m sure you are a wonderful teacher for your students. Please don’t forget to take care of yourself just as much as you take care of them. It’s comforting to know that there are others out there that can relate to what I’m going through, though! I am learning to actually put those personal health habits in my schedule and work around them so I don’t feel bad about it, haha :P.

      I don’t know about you, but I can have a somewhat erratic work schedule for a Judging type. I have periods of time where I don’t do anything because I’m paralyzed by the fear of not being able to accomplish what I need to. I also have periods of time where I am a machine because I realize I can’t wait to do those things any longer! I get things done but it’s not always the best thing for me stress or health wise. I have to learn to break tasks down and do a little bit at a time, which can be hard for an all-or-nothing person like me!

      I appreciate the high praise! Writing has always been an important form of self-expression for me, and I’m glad my posts resonate with others as well. I hope to hear from you again soon, and I look forward to reading your upcoming posts! Take care, friend.

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Always! I think a lot about balance and how I want to experience both sides. This applies to many areas of my life. I want to be a software engineer, but also a writer or an artist. I want to be a nerd, but also the casual-going types, do I make sense?

    Also, when you were talking about laser focus and keeping balance, I thought about how I need to work but also play. As in, yesterday for example, I studied all day long and it was basic electrical engineering which was all one type of work, and I felt so exhausted. Then, when I was finally done late night, I suddenly had energy to do something creative like write blog posts or sketch or doodle. I realised that I need a balance between intellectual and creative work, and I wondered if it’s an INFJ trait? Is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I am exactly the same! I have the things that I know I need to do and the things that my heart yearns to do. I try to be responsible and do all of the things I need to do all of the time, but I burn myself out doing that. This leads to me doing nothing but fun things for a while until I realize I need to get my act together… and the cycle continues. I really do need to find that balance in my life. 😛

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

