XII. I Am A Walking Contradiction

Hello again, dearest reader! I am feeling very inspired to write today, so here I am again!

Tonight I plan on writing about the often paradoxical nature of INFJ thoughts and feelings. Here are some examples:

1.) As an introvert, I need alone time to recharge my batteries, but I have a constant desire to interact and make connections with people regardless. As strange as it may sound, I am an outgoing introvert.

2.) Because of the first point, many people initially mistake me as an extrovert. This is especially true if I am having a one-on-one conversation with a new person that I take a liking to. That perception usually disappears when they see me in a big group setting or when they have to figure out why I have to withdraw from the world every now and then.

3.) I am either extremely private or extremely open, depending on how I see a person’s compatibility with mine. If I like a person, they’ll know more about me in a week than many people I’ve known for years.

4.) I give amazing advice to other people about their problems, but I have trouble deciphering how to handle my own issues and feelings.

5.) I can fit in with just about any group of people, but still at times feel like I don’t truly belong with anyone at the same time. I would not call myself a social butterfly, but rather a social chameleon.

6.) I am usually very serious, but there is a silly/goofy side to me that is begging to be let out.

7.) I feel like I understand the people I meet pretty well, but I do not often feel that understanding is reciprocated.

8.) I am quick to forgive others and slow to forgive myself.

9.) I am at heart a very warm and caring person. However, when I am under too much emotional stress, I can be completely cold and calculated.

10.) I can care about someone so much that I never talk to them again (I swear I’ll write that door slam article soon… this keeps popping up in everything that I post!).

11.) Even though I feel like a kind and caring person, some people initially perceive me as aloof, distant and intense.

12.) I find sadness to be a painful emotion to experience, but I also find it beautiful at the same time. I do not run away from being sad like many people might. I feel like life as a whole should be experienced in all of its ups and downs.

13.) I am not necessarily materialistic, but I do like having quality things in my life. In other words, I have no desire to buy a Ferrari, but I do like having a comfortable mattress to sleep on and nice headphones so I can enjoy listening to music.

14.) I am open-minded to hearing new ideas, but when my intuition tells me I am right about something, I am very stubborn when it comes to changing my mind.

15.) I love the fact that I have a rare personality type, but sometimes I wish I was more like other people too.

What do you guys think? Could you relate to any (or all) of the things that I said? Let me know in the comments section. I would love to hear what you have to think. Talk to you all soon!

Seize the day!
Ryan
21 October 2016 8:21 PM

10 thoughts on “XII. I Am A Walking Contradiction

  1. Oh my God! Ryan, I cannot believe, this was so mee!! While reading every point I related the incidents in my life which I wasn’t able to analyze this way at the time. But now I get it. OMG! Am I an INFJ too? :O

    And I never thought someone could ever be so similar to me or think alike me, I am happy to meet one. Thankyou Ryan. 🙂

    *And I’m sorry, the same comment got published on the other post as well!*

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you agreed with every point, I think you’d have to be an INFJ. Some of those are very specific. But again, I am glad you were able to find this blog and become more comfortable with yourself! It means a lot to me. 🙂

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thank you so much for following me; I’m an INFJ too and it’s so awesome finding other people who are too! These points really relate to me, especially the understanding other people but not really feeling understood yourself, and being attracted to sadness in a strange way (I love sad movies and books not gonna lie XD). I remember when I first took the quiz I was shocked at how scarily accurate it is and I feel a bit like you do – cool to be rare but wish there were more who would get me.
    Great blog – interested to see what else you post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, it is much appreciated 🙂

      It seems impossible to find another INFJ until you check out the blogging world– then we are everywhere! 😛

      I think the MBTI is very important for us INFJs because it helps us understand ourselves in a way not very many other things can. It was crucial for me becoming more confident in who I am as a person.

      Again, it’s a pleasure to be connected with you, and I hope to have more discussions with you in the future! Take care. 🙂

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

      • yes that’s true – it felt like the INFJ explanation knew me more than anyone live actually could! But it’s good to know that you’re almost meant to be that way – and you’re not alone either 🙂
        It’s been great finding another INFJ too 🙂 see you around

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think it is possible to have qualities of other personality types; one does not have to strictly follow what their type results say. However, these contradictions themselves are both pretty specific to and (from what I have found) prevalent in INFJs. Perhaps you relate so much because we share three letters? 🙂

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

