XXVI. A Post About Me

Hello, dearest reader! I’m glad you can be here today.

I’ve realized that behind all of the INFJ theory I’ve wrote about I haven’t actually done a lot about myself or my own experiences. I guess I can’t escape my need to be private even on a blog dedicated to myself, haha.

So, who is the person that puts together the words you read on this site?

I am a human being, just like you, trying to reconcile the meaning of my existence and the human condition.

The first thing you need to know is that there is darkness in my life. Quite a bit of it.

I was bullied for many years when I was younger in school, because I was different from most other kids. I used to sit at a lunch table alone, because I didn’t have the confidence to talk to anyone. Many nights I went home and cried in my room. Although things are better now, I am still dealing with the residual effects that the experience has had on my self-esteem.

However, even if I could go back in time and change that part of my life, I never would. It has made me into the person I am today. I am an empathetic person because of the people that antagonized me. I know what it’s like to have been in the gutter, and it drives me to uplift those around me that are struggling or in pain.

I hope that none of you feel sad about my story, because that is not my intention. For all of the darkness in my life, there is so much light. My message is that no matter what the conditions of your past were, you can always improve your circumstances– you can even use the things that were difficult for you to bring you up even higher.

I know today’s piece was a little different. I didn’t have a set topic I was going to write about beforehand. I just went where my mind took me, and I hope that allowed you to get to know me a little better.

Did you enjoy the more personal side of this INFJ? Let me know in the comment section, and I will try to do more of it! Talk to you all soon.  🙂

Seize the day!
Ryan
12 January 2017 9:58 PM

5 thoughts on “XXVI. A Post About Me

    • Hey there,

      I’m really sorry to hear that. I not only sympathize, but empathize with your story. Although it was a terrible experience at the time (and still affects my confidence today), I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I love having the ability to use my pain to help others understand theirs. It’s what makes me, me.

      Thank you for sharing, too! Best wishes to you. 🙂

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Like

    • Thank you for your comment, it is much appreciated! 🙂

      It seems to be a common theme among many INFJs that I’ve talked to that our empathy is shaped by people being horrible to us. We know what it is like to be in the gutter, and we don’t want anyone else to have to experience it.

      I almost wanted to say that I was sorry that you had to go through similar experiences, but I’m not going to. I want you to embrace it, because that is an inseparable part of who you are as a person now. Instead of letting your darkness consume you, use it to help bring others into the light. We have a special ability to lift people up, and we also deserve that same success and happiness for ourselves!

      Take care, friend. I hope to see you around!

      Seize the day!
      Ryan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

